Honors Students Elected to 2017-2018 Student Government Association Cabinet

May 2, 2017

The John V. Roach Honors College is pleased to report that the incoming officers for the 2017-2018 SGA Executive Branch are members of the Honors College. This was a record-breaking year for SGA elections, with 3,497 ballots cast in the regular election, which corresponds to roughly 41% of TCU undergraduates. In the general election, Abbey Widick and Cara Doil won the Vice President of Operations and Treasurer positions, respectively. In a run-off election, Ben Taylor won Student Body President and Hudson Trent won Vice President of External Affairs. Nearing the general election record, students cast 3,339 ballots in the run-off election.

Ben Taylor

Incoming President Ben Taylor is a senior political science major from Willow Park, Texas. Taylor has prior experience with SGA, serving two years in the SGA House of Representatives, most recently as Speaker of the House.


Abbey Widick

Abbey Widick, VP of Operations, is a Kansas City, Missouri native and is a junior political science and communication studies major. Widick’s prior SGA experience includes serving as a Frog Aide and as a member of the House of Representatives, where she was the Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee.


Hudson Trent

Hudson Trent, VP of External Affairs, is a senior finance and marketing major from Dallas, Texas. In prior SGA service, Trent was the Director of Marketing for SGA, as well as a member of the House of Representatives.


Cara Doil

Newly elected Treasurer, Cara Doil, is a senior finance major from Allen, Texas, and she brings her extensive experience with the SGA Finance Committee to this new position.

The officers took the oath of office on May 2, 2017 and will serve the campus community for the 2017-2018 academic year.


John V. Roach Honors College
2855 Main Drive
Scharbauer Hall 1016

John V. Roach Honors College
TCU BOX 297022
Fort Worth, TX 76129