Honors Professor, Mikio Akagi, Receives Teaching Excellence Award at Convocation

September 15, 2021

A joyful tradition at TCU, Fall Convocation marks the beginning of a new academic year, recognizes new full-time faculty, and bestows several coveted university awards.

At this year’s celebration, Honors assistant professor of the history and philosophy of science, Dr. Mikio Akagi, received the Maryrose Short Teaching Excellence Award.

The Maryrose Short Teaching Excellence Award recognizes excellence in teaching and is specifically focused on exceptional untenured, full-time faculty members, including non-tenure track faculty with five years or less at TCU. Nominations from colleges and schools are submitted to academic deans who select the top three to submit to the provost for final selection. This award was established by Dan Short, Ph.D., former dean of the Neeley School of Business, in memory of his wife, Maryrose Short. The winner receives $6,000 with the stipulation that $1,000 be used for a professional development activity.

John V. Roach Honors College
2855 Main Drive
Scharbauer Hall 1016

John V. Roach Honors College
TCU BOX 297022
Fort Worth, TX 76129