Connecting Honors’ Past, Present and Future: The Founders Award

January 26, 2016

Honors logoThe John V. Roach Honors College’s Board of Visitors is launching a new project aimed at highlighting the College’s vision and mission while celebrating a leader representing those values. The inaugural John V. Roach Honors College Board of Visitors Founders Award winner, to be selected in the Spring 2016 Semester, will be invited to visit campus and interact with Honors students, supporters of the College, and other TCU community members in the fall of 2016.

This new award serves several goals, all in keeping with the Board’s overall mission of supporting and strengthening the John V. Roach Honors College. The nomination process, by engaging a variety of audiences in our search for individual nominees whose lives and achievements reflect the essential tenets of the Honors College, will increase the overall visibility of the Honors College and can enhance connections among the Honors College, its current and former students, and the TCU community generally.

As the nomination documents and the Board’s work make clear, a nominee should be a person who inspires and challenges us to make a positive difference in our own work and whose leadership exemplifies engagement with the educational foundations of the Honors College and the values it seeks to nurture. A Committee composed of BOV leaders, faculty and current Honors College students will, during the Spring Semester, select that nominee who best meets the criteria set out in the Board’s resolution establishing this Award.

Members of the Award Committee for the 2015-2016 academic year are:

  • Kaity Butcher, Honors student
  • George Henderson, BOV member
  • Landon Hendrickson, Honors student
  • Sneha Popley, BOV member
  • Dr. Jim Register, BOV Member
  • Dr. Sarah Robbins, Honors acting dean, ex officio
  • Dr. Dan Williams, Honors faculty and current Honors Professor of the Year
  • Dr. Scott Williams, Modern Language Studies faculty and former Honors Professor of the Year
  • Renda Williams, Honors College Administrative Assistant

In future years, as part of the recognition, the Founders Award project will continue to bring the recipient to campus each fall to offer opportunities for current students (and alumni) to meet these individuals in settings that encourage direct, personal exchanges. Such meetings can inspire our current students, and alumni, to make their own meaningful contributions to society. And in doing all this, we believe the Founders Award will increase the stature of the Honors College at TCU and draw attention to the contributions the Honors College makes to the quality of education at TCU.

As the Board of Visitors considered establishing this award, we consciously looked back to the founding years of the Honors Program and the goals of Dr. Paul Wassenich and others who shaped the Honors Program. We also sought to connect the Founders Award to the purposes and goals of the Honors College today. With that background, we believe that a nominee should exemplify critical and creative thinking, understanding and tolerance, and involvement with community. And finally, although a nominee need not be graduate of TCU or the Honors College, there should be an ongoing connection with TCU and the College.

The Committee requests that Honors students, faculty, staff, BOV members, and other friends of the College nominate distinguished individuals for the inaugural Founders Award using this nomination form.

John V. Roach Honors College
2855 Main Drive
Scharbauer Hall 1016

John V. Roach Honors College
TCU BOX 297022
Fort Worth, TX 76129