Acting Dean Sarah Robbins Wins the Ferrari Award for Distinguished University Service and Leadership

April 27, 2015

sarah robbinsDr. Sarah Robbins, acting dean of the John V. Roach Honors College and Lorraine Sherley Professor of American Literature in the English department, is this year’s recipient of the Michael R. Ferrari Award for Distinguished University Service and Leadership at TCU.

The John V. Roach Honors College is among the most promising programs identified in TCU’s strategic plan, Vision in Action: The Academy of Tomorrow. During the 2014-2015 self-study and program review of the college, Dr. Robbins brought extensive expertise in managing collaborative projects. Working with faculty, staff and students from disparate backgrounds, she provided leadership and vision to ensure each team member’s input was valued – essential in building cohesiveness and consensus. Her effort has helped to shape the direction of the John V. Roach Honors College and define its quality for years to come.

The Ferrari Award was established by the Texas Christian University Board of Trustees to honor Dr. Michael R. Ferrari for his leadership as TCU’s ninth chancellor. Chancellor Emeritus Ferrari led TCU from July 1998 through May 2003. He held the faculty rank as professor of management at TCU and was cited for his efforts to involve the Fort Worth community in the life of the University through the TCU Commission on the Future. His academic research was focused on strategic planning in higher education, computing and information technology, institutional renewal and revitalization, and academic-industry economic development partnerships. Dr. Ferrari is now retired and living in Chicago, but maintains an active interest in TCU.

The Ferrari Award carries with it a prize of $5,000. Acting Dean Robbins opted to assign part of the prize funds to the four Honors full-time staff members and part to the program’s advancement account. Past recipients include: Edward McNertney, Jose Feghali, Leo Munson, Tara Perez, Keith Whitworth, Will Stallworth, Jane Kucko, Lynn Flahive and Jeffrey C. Geider.

John V. Roach Honors College
2855 Main Drive
Scharbauer Hall 1016

John V. Roach Honors College
TCU BOX 297022
Fort Worth, TX 76129